//
if you like it, let others know...
Communication, Engagement, Recruitment

i need a hit

Just a quick one from me today.

I had a fantastic week in a villa in Mallorca with friends last week (yes it was hot, and yes there was a certain amount of debauchery…) but there was still a nagging urge to want to jump on the internet to simply “find out what’s going on”.

The lack of Wi-Fi in the undulating hills of Santa Ponza meant that I either had to search out an internet café) of which the closest was a treacherous 457 step climb, or fork out the sky-high roaming costs that my mobile provider charges to access the web on my phone.

Now many will say you should forget about it all when you’re away – I promise I tried whilst sipping on some Don Simon Sangria and frequently dipping some bread into the copious amounts of aioli that was on show, but I couldn’t help myself.  As I continue my job search, I am acutely aware that the initial stages of the recruitment process can move very quickly (subsequent stages seem to drag on…) so I was checking emails twice a day.

But I couldn’t leave it there could I?  I’d already paid the set amount for 24 hour roaming so I had a little snoop around LinkedIn to see what my connections were up to; kept up-to-date to see who @piersmorgan had most recently got in a public spat with; and of course checked in my friends at various locations around the small Spanish Balearic Island.

The constant need for information and the desire to keep up-to-date whilst away, is a relatively new phenomenon to me and I only noticed a couple of others in our 21 strong group reaching for their iPhones or Blackberrys on regular occasions (all in the creative industries).

Maybe it’s the marketer in me with the appetite for new and shiny happenings or maybe I’m just a loser.  One thing is for sure, I had a great break and I’m fully motivated on my search for my next exciting challenge.

Glenn

P.S. I have a friend (@auge28) who is looking for a Graphic Designer to donate some of their time to a really worthwhile charity project, so please do get in touch with her if you can help.

About Glenn

Glenn is a marketing professional looking at the world of communication, engagement, advertising and anything else that catches his eye. 2ens relates to his name - it's a pet peeve when he sees is spelt with only one...

Discussion

One thought on “i need a hit

  1. Hi to all, how is the whole thing, I think every
    one is getting more from this site, and your views are pleasant designed for new visitors.

    Posted by hardwood flooring | March 21, 2013, 12:51

So, what do you think?

LinkedIn

Google+

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 3 other followers

